Keto

Standard

So I haven’t been writing because I have been very busy the past few weeks. I have been taking Abigail to softball three times a week, spending a lot of time with family on weekends, and doing chores, of course.

I also started a new way of eating on 2/10/17 called the ketogenic diet…or low carb…or low carb, high fat…people call it different things. It isn’t a cut and dry formula. Everyone’s is different based on your height, weight, gender and just the way your body reacts.

I have lost 12 pounds in one month. I feel really, really good. I only cheated one time and ate cream cheese bread and I felt so gross and groggy and tired the rest of the day. That is a great reminder for the next time I get a craving.

I haven’t had any cravings though. My body got all that yucky carby sugar out of my body so it isn’t craving it anymore. I have a lot of energy since my body is burning fat instead of carbs and sugar. I am fuller for longer amounts of time since I eat fats and protein daily.

I start the day with a BPC which is a Bullet Proof Coffee. I make a K-cup of my favorite coffee, 14 ounces…and I put a tablespoon of grass fed butter into the blender along with 1 tablespoon of MCT oil (which is flavorless by the way), and 1 tablespoon of Heavy Whipping Cream (HWC) and blend it all together. It gets frothy on top…mmmm so good! I look forward to that BPC each morning. Even if I wake up hungry, I don’t eat food. Instead, I drink this coffee. Since is is full of healthy fats, it actually makes me full for about 4-5 hours. If I were to just drink coffee on an empty stomach I would get shaky and have a upset tummy, but because of the butter and MCT oil and HWC, it really helps me to feel energized, full and ready to start my day!

If I feel a little hungry later on I eat things like pickles, a few nuts (almonds, walnuts, peanuts, pecans, pistachios), a cheese stick, some dry salami or a hardboiled egg. I love the things I can eat. They make me feel great instead of groggy.

Before I ate this way I would drink 3-4 cups of coffee a day and wonder why I was still tired. I thought I had built up a tolerance to coffee. Nope. It was the yucky carbs and sugar I was living off of. It was giving me a temporary energy that had a big crash during the comedown. I can see it now when I eat with people who chow down on a bunch of carbs and sugar, their face changes. They look spacey and super full like they need a nap. Then, they are hungry in a couple hours!

For lunch, I like to eat vegetables, salmon…sometimes I like to make something easy like tuna fish, with mayo, cut up some celery, and petite dill pickles! Very delicious! The possibilities are actually endless. Just type “Keto” into Google along with what you like to eat and there will be a way to convert the dish. Some recipes are more complex and require ingredients like almond flour, coconut flour, etc. I try to stick to the easy meals and snacks so I can stick to this way of eating and not get overwhelmed or stuck in the kitchen too long. It is also very easy when you go out to eat since there are always Keto friendly foods on a menu, or can easily be converted into Keto.

My sister has been eating this way since June last year and she is down over 70 pounds. She is my inspiration, motivation and support system. She has taught me a lot of helpful hints and tips to get into this way of eating easier and with less confusion and mistakes. The way food is marketed and sold can make things complicated. When you think you may be purchasing something healthy, it isn’t healthy. When it says Sugar Free, it isn’t always Sugar Free. Also, we’ve been taught and trained over the years to choose Low Fat when really we should be eating the Full Fat items. That doesn’t mean pig out on cheese and nuts all day. You still need to keep track of everything you eat.

If you don’t keep track, you won’t realize your portions. You won’t realize your amount of protein, carbs and fat you are eating a day. Also, you will need to make adjustments.

Before I started this way of eating, I took “Before” photos and also measured myself and weighed myself. I wrote it all down in a little book I keep in my bathroom. Every week or two, I weigh myself and measure myself again and keep track of the progress. It is very slow going, but that is better! As long as there is progress, that is all that matters. I also use My Fitness Pal (its a FREE app) to track all my food I consume each day.

Recently, I stalled (this is where you don’t see the scale moving at all for a couple weeks) and I asked my sister. She said to cut out cheese for a week and see if that helps. Although I was only eating 2-4 ounces of cheese a day, which is fine on Keto, it was stalling me. My body functions differently than others. I adjusted and I have not had cheese for almost one week. I am down 2 more pounds this week. I also took a look at my protein and decided I could cut back on that as well.

There is a Keto Calculator that you can use to find out what your macros (portions of daily protein, carbs and fat) should be. You have to redo your calculation each month since your body will be changing, so will your macros. The calculator gave me a range for my protein of 60-90 so I initially chose 75. After stalling, I lowered it to 60 and that has helped as well. Now, if I was the type of person who was working out an hour a day, five days a week, I would probably benefit from more protein. But I don’t work out at all really so I don’t need that much protein…it will just turn into sugar.

Anyway, I am excited about this way of eating and just wanted to share my little journey with whoever wants to read this. I also am part of support groups for this way of eating and that is a great way to stay on track, get recipes and ideas and tips and know that there are others out there (MANY OTHERS) who are on this journey as well. It is really nice to see their success stories. Some people on the support groups have been doing Keto for years. They share their photos and stories and its super inspirational. A ton of people have gone from being extremely, dangerously unhealthy to being very healthy. They have gone from taking a lot of medications for blood pressure, anxiety, etc. to taking nothing at all. Their bodies are working the way they are intended to work because they are feeding their bodies the food it was intended to eat.

Your body is the only one you get. Take care of it. Nourish it. It deserves that and so do you!

3 thoughts on “Keto

  1. That’s great that you’ve been so successful! And it’s also amazing that you have your sister to inspire you and to help you! I’m wondering, how is Keto
    working in social situations when you’re eating out or having a dinner party. Has it been a problem or not at all? Curious to know and thanks for sharing! Hope you get continued success in the months to come! Xo, Steph

    Like

    • Thank you for reading! It has been very easy in social situations. Most places have a “low carb” menu or ways to substitute. We have a ton of potlucks at work and most the time I can’t eat what others bring since it’s a lot of carbs like bagels, donuts, pies, desserts, chips and cookies. I make sure I pack snacks every day just in case I need them. I always have a healthy stash at work and when I am going to be out and about on weekends. I think the most important things are to drink a lot of water and only eat if you’re truly hungry.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wow that’s great that you’re fully prepared for all the “obstacles” ahead. I really admire all the time, effort and self control you’re putting to make your body the best and healthiest it can be! Have a great day! Xo, Steph

        Like

Leave a Reply

